Vegan Cookie; Gluten free; Paleo Pizza Base?

Wheat, Gluten free Muesli
6th Nov 2018
Carob-Lindt Cookie
8th Jan 2019

Vegan Cookie; Gluten free; Paleo Pizza Base?

What does this terminology mean?

I was ordering an Almond milk Cappuccino in a Restaurant and the waiter was very impressed to serve me with a Vegan cookie on the saucer. My husband immediately replied that we eat Gluten free and therefore will return the cookie. The waiter kept on stressing that it was Vegan and my husband kept saying that it contains flour. This made me realise that people don’t know how different ingredients are restricted on different diets.

If you are on a special diet, where certain foods are eliminated from your food list, be patient with people who don’t understand you. If you are not working in the Health or Food industry, you may have no clue what Lacto-vegetarian or a Paleo Diet means .

So, allow me to explain briefly.

  • Vegans- avoid consuming any animal flesh, animal by-products or foods containing an ingredient from animal origin. Animal based ingredients include whey, casein, lactose, egg white albumen, gelatin, cochineal or carmine, isinglass, shellac, L-cysteine, animal-derived vitamin D3 and fish-derived omega-3 fatty acids. Therefore, a client who is vegan cannot have any of the above ingredients in their dishes. Bee products like honey, bee pollen and royal jelly will also be avoided.
  • Lacto-vegetarian, this group of vegetarians do consume dairy, but not eggs.
  • Ovo-vegetarian, this group leave dairy out of their diet, but do eat eggs.
  • Lacto-Ovo vegetarians, do eat dairy products and eggs.
  • Paleo- you can eat anything we could hunt or gather way back in the day – things like meats, fish, nuts, leafy greens, regional veggies, and seeds. The original Paleo diet contains some meat, fish and eggs, but no legumes or grains.
  • Banting- After the success experienced by William Banting on this low-carb, high-fat eating plan, the “banting” diet became the standard treatment for weight loss in all major European and North American medical schools. But in 1959 it was excluded from all the major medical and nutritional textbooks.
  • Gluten free -avoid all foods that contain gluten, for example: pasta, pizza, bread, cookies, cereals, sausages, and crumbs if it is made of the following flours: wheat, oats, buckwheat, or rye. Instead Gluten free people use: almond flour, millet flour & rice flour.
  • Dairy free – avoid all food items that contain: whey, casein & lactose. Foods that contain dairy: milk, cheese, butte, chocolate, ice-cream, and yoghurt, most sweets & most confectionery items.

 

If you are working in a Restaurant or you have a food related occupation it is worth while to know and understand customer’s food choices and allergies.  Be patient with people who are intolerant because, most of the time, it is out of necessity that they the avoid certain ingredients.

If you want more info on the right food choices for your body, book a biofeedback session(SCIO) with me. By investing 2 hours of your time and R350, you will benefit tremendously.   It’ll be two hours very well spent.